A parrot and a man going to the limit

Alex Papworth
2 min readNov 17, 2020

As I walked up the the path into the park I saw the green parakeet again.

Actually, after several loud squawks the parakeet got my attention.

Thinking about an ‘alien’ species. These are well known to be thriving here, presumably from Australia.

The climate is changing to suit (perhaps?). Or just sheer opportunism as this bird has escaped or made its way to the UK.

Makes me think about the (cultural) climate in organisations across the UK. That is very different to what it was 10 years or even 5 years ago.

I compare myself to the parakeet. I have adapted and become someone different. I feel the climate is welcoming to this new variety.

But there are still organisations that are VERY hostile. Feelings are not appropriate — numbers, finance and business cases only. People turned into numbers and parts to be replaced are suffering in these environments.

Perhaps the climate has changed. But the necessary transformation will only take place as the individuals evolve. Perhaps the failure or collapse of organisations will be the catalyst.

I walked further and saw a man being trained running up a hill, close to being sick.

How does this work I thought? Is physical transformation necessarily painful and traumatic? Do we hate ourselves that this suffering seems appropriate?

I am mostly ignorant of physical transformation but I struggle to understand why the idea of flow and effortless works in individual transformation but the body is somehow different (because it is all connected). My experience of physical transformation is several months of intermittent fasting (and cutting out most sugar). This is adifferent world. That at least I recognize, many different realities, not one objective truth.

As I finished my walk, I was offered some mushrooms (perhaps?) on a stump to marvel at.

A gift of something truly alien, other worldly.

--

--

Alex Papworth

An adventurer who helps professionals find inspiration on their own adventure